Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

S’mores Stuffed Brownies!

My mother bought brownie mix a few days ago off the markdown shelf. I can’t tell you how much money we’ve saved by visiting the markdown shelf. If your local grocery store has a markdown shelf, you should take advantage of it. Anyway…back to the brownies.

When I make brownies, I usually add chocolate chips and marshmallows. I wanted to try something a little different, and who better to go to than Picky Palate? The woman certainly knows her way around a dessert.

After looking through her recipes, I decided on S’mores Stuffed Brownies. I thought it was a great idea for summer, and it’s really easy!

S’mores Stuffed Brownies
1 box of your favorite brownie mix
4 1/2 full Graham Crackers
3 1/2 Full size Hershey’s Bars
16 large marshmallows

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Prepare brownie mix according to package directions.  Line foil into an 8×8 inch baking pan and spray generously with cooking spray.  Pour half the brownie batter into lined pan.  Layer graham crackers over brownies following Hershey Bars and marshmallows.  Pour remaining brownie batter over marshmallows.  Bake for 40-45 minutes or until toothpick comes mostly clean from center.  Remove from oven and let cool completely.  Carefully remove foil and brownies from pan.  Peel any foil from away from edges and cut into squares.


Now, I made a few changes when I made them (are you surprised?). I didn’t use any foil. Not a big change, really. It wasn’t because I didn’t want to, or because I didn’t think I needed to. I forgot. I also used a 7×11 inch pan, because an 8×8 inch pan of brownies wouldn’t last long in this house.

I didn’t have enough chocolate bars, but I did have Hershey’s milk chocolate chips. I did the math (okay…I used the calculator on the computer), and half the bag of chocolate chips was about the equivalent of the 3 1/2 chocolate bars. I used the whole bag. Yeah.

Instead of using regular marshmallows, I used mini marshmallows (which I apparently forgot to photograph).

These were fantastic! I will absolutely be making these again! I would recommend them if you’re looking for a fun and easy way to make brownies.

If you check out Picky Palate’s page for the recipe, you’ll see that there’s another way to make them using the Wilton Mini Square Pan. I love the idea of the mini brownies – they’re so cute! Happy baking!

2 Comments

  1. WOW YUM

    Like

  2. What a splendid recipe, thanks so much for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

