Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

What-a-Great-Website Wednesday! Week 9

I said in my previous post that I would give a review of the Slow Cooked Macaroni & Cheese. Oops…it’s a little late.

First of all, I made ours with whole wheat pasta. I’ve been trying to stick with healthier foods and found that we really like the taste of the whole wheat pasta. The recipe asks for 8 ounces of pasta, but I added the whole box, which was about 13 ounces.

We really liked this recipe. We’ll probably add more to it next time – probably some broccoli and bacon. Maybe some chicken. We like adding a lot of “mix-ins.” We will definitely be making this again in the future. If you like mac & cheese, give this recipe a try!

This week’s website goes hand-in-hand with the Slow Cooked Macaroni & Cheese. As I mentioned in my previous post, it’s been pretty warm in Maryland. We’ve been fortunate to have a reprieve from the hot weather for the past few days, but the forecast for the rest of this week has us in the mid to high 90s. When it’s hot like that, who wants to have to turn on the oven? And without AC, it can be miserable. Luckily, you can always pull out your crockpot!

I’m sure some people think that a crockpot is only for the winter, but who says you can’t use it all year round? Stephanie O’Dea (another one of my food heroes) decided to do just that. She made a New Year’s resolution to do a Year of Slow Cooking – use her crockpot every day of the year and blog about it. She’s used her crockpots (yes, plural) to make everything from soup to yogurt, and even crayons to soap. The woman is a slow cooking genius. If you don’t believe me, take a look at her recipe index.

What I really like about her blog is that she gives “verdicts” of each recipe. She’ll say if she would add something more or exclude one of the ingredients. Oh, and all of her recipes are gluten-free. You obviously don’t have to stick with the gluten-free ingredients, but it’s nice that she provides the gluten-free option.

If you enjoy using your crockpot, you should definitely check out her site. She also has a cookbook available with more than 300 of her recipes. Happy slow cooking!

1 Comment

  1. Thank you for your kind words and for the links to my site. I have had so much fun with all of this and am just so happy I can be of some help to you and your family. Enjoy the summer! I’ve always wanted to explore the east coast— Maryland especially. We have some old family ties to the Baltimore area.
    thank you again— oxox steph

    Like

Leave a Reply

