Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

What-a-Great-Website Wednesday! Week 8

It’s been too long since I’ve posted – sorry, folks! Because it happens to be a Wednesday, I decided I might as well share another great website.

Today is the first official day of summer! And appropriately so, since it’s going to be almost 100 degrees today. I don’t know about you, but for me, there’s just something exciting about summer. In a book I recently read, it said “summers were a time of promise.” I liked that description because it can be translated in many ways to many people.

For this summer, I want to challenge you to read. Yes, it may sound boring, but I spend most of my free time reading. I can honestly say that I have learned a lot from some of the books I’ve read. I’ve learned about Russian history, life in lumber camps in the 1800s, how switchboards used to be operated, and so much more.

While you may be thinking, “but it’s fiction – it’s not real,” you would be amazed at home much research authors do before writing and completing a book. Just open the back of a book and read their acknowledgements. You’ll often find that the author expresses their gratitude to the experts they consulted while working on their books.

If you’re not into fiction, read non-fiction. Have a favorite actor? Find out if they have a biography. Enjoy learning about history? Science? Cars? Animals? There are books available about them too. Working at a library, I can tell you – there are books about everything you can think of. Doubt me? I have just three words for you: Dewey. Decimal. System.

For those of who you don’t want to spend money on books or who don’t enjoy going to the library, I have something for you. A free Kindle App for your computer or Smartphone. You’re welcome. Not only can you enjoy the free app, you can also get free books. I have literally over 100 books that I haven’t paid a penny for. And yes, they were all obtained legally. Go to Amazon and search “free kindle books.”

I hope you’ll take my challenge and read at least one book over the next few weeks. I have a co-worker who has decided she’s going to read 100 books this summer. I’m not quite as ambitious as she is, but I definitely admire her zeal for literature.

“All the best stories in the world are but one story in reality – the story of escape. It is the only thing which interests us all and at all times, how to escape.” – Arthur Christopher Benson

“Books, I found, had the power to make time stand still, retreat or fly into the future.” – Jim Bishop

1 Comment

  1. johndent

    Your friend is pretty ambitious; that is slightly more than a book a day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

