Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

Fresh Cherry Crisp

After picking almost 2 quarts of cherries on Monday, I decided to make cherry crisp. We have a lot of cooking oats that I’ve used to make desserts lately. Plus, I’m still not comfortable with the idea of canning. I really want to try it, but I’m just not brave enough yet.

After searching through several recipes, I finally found one the didn’t use too much butter. I try to avoid recipes that ask for a stick of butter or more – it’s not so much a health thing, but rather an I-don’t-want-to-have-to-buy-stick-margarine-every-time-I-go-to-the-store kind of thing. (Okay…I ended up using a whole stick…but only because I doubled it!)

I found the Fresh Cherry Crisp recipe from My Baking Addiction. The original recipe makes 4 individuals servings, but can be doubled to make a 9×13 dish. Because I had a lot of cherries (and 4 individual servings would never do in this household), I doubled the recipe.

It’s a great recipe! I’m sure it would work with sour or sweet cherries, and I don’t see why you couldn’t use store-bought cherries.

When I first tasted it, it reminded me of something my grandmother had made in the past. I like new, creative recipes like those of Picky Palate, but nothing beats the simple, old-fashioned recipes!

Now I just have to wait for the wineberries… 😉

5 Comments

  1. johndent

    Maybe we can jump down the canning rabbit hole together. Anna and I are interested in doing this; we even got as far as purchasing several canning jars through Craigslist last summer. They are sitting in the basement waiting to be used. The three of us should talk this weekend.

    By the way, you are an excellent writer.

    Like

    • Thank you very much! That means a lot to me, especially coming from you.

      I love the idea of trying this canning thing together. I know Meemaw would love the idea of all of us canning. 🙂

      Like

  2. Susan Grasham

    You know, I boxed up all of Mee Maw’s canning jars and such. With the garden in, canning is the next step…..

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. What-a-Great-Website Wednesday! Week 7 (A little late…) « Home is Where the Love Is

Leave a Reply

