Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

Hummingbirds are back!

I can’t believe the hummingbirds are back already! It seems really early in the year for them to be back. Just a few days ago, I was sitting at our kitchen table and I look up to see a hummingbird, flying around the area where we usually hang our hummingbird feeder. I immediately made the sugar water!

Packaged hummingbird nectar is available in stores, but I like to make it myself since sugar water is easy enough to make. For one feeder, you have four cups of water and one cup of sugar. I doubled ours because we hang two feeders, so, obviously, it’s eight cups of water and two cups of sugar. Be careful not to use Sweet’N Low or Splenda. I once read an article where a diabetic woman accidentally used Sweet’N Low in her sugar water and the hummingbirds hated it! Once she switched to regular sugar, the hummingbirds returned.

Pour the water into a pot and heat it on the highest setting. Once it’s boiling, remove from heat and stir in the sugar. After the sugar water has cooled, pour it into the hummingbird feeder and hang it outside. There are lots of different types of hummingbird feeders, from the simple to the more elaborate. We have three of the simple ones.

Some tips: I recently read that it is not necessary to boil the water before adding sugar; however, this is how my grandmother did it for many years, so it is how I will do it. Plus, boiling the water can get rid of any germs that may be in the water you’re using. While hummingbirds are attracted to the color red, it is not safe to add food coloring to the sugar water.

This site will tell you the species of hummingbirds you are likely to see, depending on the area you live in. It also provides information about each species, including their physical features and migration habits.

I managed to get a picture of one our of little guys. I hope you have lots of hummingbird visitors this season!

2 Comments

  1. Susan Grasham

    Love your writing and the pictures are great!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

