Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

What-a-Great-Website Wednesday! Week 2

Good morning! Here we are – another Wednesday. I hope you’re enjoying your week so far!

I usually spend part of the day Wednesday getting the trash together, as the trash guys come at 5:30am (ewww) on Thursday. Every so often, getting the trash together includes cleaning out the fridge. I don’t know about you, but cleaning out the fridge is not exactly my favorite household chore. So many times, I have to ask myself, “How long ago did we buy this? Is it still any good? It’s only half empty – do I have to throw it away already?”

After so many weeks of the check-the-date-and-sniff-it routine, I went to the World Wide Web for some help. I found this amazing website called StillTasty that provides the shelf life of a number of different types of foods. The foods are divided into categories (e.g., fruits, vegetables, baked goods, etc.) and information is available for both opened and unopened products. I’ve visited this site more times than I can remember and I’ve learned a lot about storing food. For example, you can freeze stick margarine. I have done this before, and it comes in handy when you are about to bake something and find out you are down to a quarter of a stick of margarine in the fridge. Not a fan of freezer-burned ice cream? After you’ve opened it, put plastic wrap on the top before putting the lid back on. There are also some great articles, including topics such as the produce that’s in season, and tips for storage.

I hope you find this website as helpful as I have. Have a great Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

