Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

Baking With Meemaw

This is an oldie but a goodie. Back in July, I posted this to my tumblr and I wanted to revive it again.

Living in Kingsville, we’re very fortunate to have so many different types of fruit available to us. We’ve picked everything from apples and cherries, to blackberries and wineberries.

Because picking berries is a favorite summer pastime, we decided to pick some wineberries we saw growing down the road. Daniel, Katie, Anna, Johnathan, and I worked for a good half hour or so and got about 2 quarts of berries.

After seeing all the berries, I wanted to do something with them – other than eat them. I considered making jam, but the canning process is a bit more than I bargained for, and I don’t have the necessary materials. I finally decided to make a pie – like Meemaw would do. As many of you know, she made apple pies – THE best apple pies. I’ve never made a pie before, but I knew I had to give it a try.

Apparently wineberries are not very popular in other places, because the internet is seriously lacking in recipes for wineberries. In fact, Firefox is telling me that “wineberries” is not a real word. Luckily, I found a website that not only acknowledged the existence of wineberries, but even had a recipe for a wineberry pie.

I had all of the ingredients – expect for the pie crust. I looked in stores, but I knew it wouldn’t be the same as the homemade crust my grandmother made. Then I thought…maybe, just maybe, we had some pie crust left from the last time my grandmother made one of her apple pies. Keeping my fingers crossed, I looked in the freezer…and there it was – some of my grandmother’s pie crust.

I couldn’t wait to make the pie, and I finally got my chance today. It was a lot easier than I thought it would be, but that’s probably because I didn’t have to make the crust from scratch. There wasn’t quite enough crust for the top, so I had to be creative in how I finished it. It’s baking now and I’m excited to see how it turns out. I know Meemaw is proud. 🙂

The end result…


(Please disregard the grungy-looking baking sheet.)

4 Comments

  1. This post is amazing! I’m going to put this in the bookmarks before I misplace the link I don’t think I’ll ever find my way back otherwise!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Cherries! « Home is Where the Love Is
  2. Fresh Cherry Crisp « Home is Where the Love Is
  3. What-a-Great-Website Wednesday! Week 7 (A little late…) « Home is Where the Love Is

Leave a Reply

