Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

Banana Bread

It’s been grey and rainy here – the perfect weather for baking! We have some bananas that have seen better days, which means I get to make banana bread! I know most people make banana nut bread, but as I’m not a huge fan of nuts, I like to make my banana bread without them. Instead, I like to add chocolate chips.

Most of the recipes I use come from websites or other blogs I find. Occasionally, I’ll use one of my grandmother’s recipes. She has several little recipe boxes that she’s used for as long as I can remember. The recipes are not in any order whatsoever (a project for another day), and there are duplicates of some of them. But they were her’s. I love opening the recipe boxes and seeing her handwriting as I look through them. There’s something comforting about seeing her writing and baking in the kitchen she used for so many years.

The recipe I’m using today was not written in her writing, but I know she used it many times. It was typewritten on an index card that is now yellowed and a bit worn. As I mentioned earlier, I make my own version of this, but I’ll be posting the original recipe.

Banana Nut Loaf

1/2 cup butter or shortening
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1-3 crushed bananas
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup nuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter. Add sugar and cream again. Add eggs and beat. Then add bananas, flour sifted with soda, and last add nuts. Pour into greased pan. Bake 1 hour.

I usually add about 1/4 cup of chocolate chips…or more, depending on my mood. Enjoy!

I’ve never posted a recipe with pictures, so I thought, “why not?” I am no photographer (I don’t even own a camera at the moment), but it doesn’t hurt to try something new, right? I’ll post the instructions with the pictures I took while making the banana bread.

Start with a stick of margarine.

Cream butter.

Add 1 cup of sugar.

Cream margarine and sugar.

Add two beaten eggs.

Beat mixture. We have a hand mixer that’s older than the hills. I probably could have mixed it a little more, but I keep our mixer on the lowest setting, as I make a mess every time I bake.

Mash the bananas. Depending on the size bowl you decide to use, I would recommend mashing them one at a time. This will allow you to thoroughly mash each banana without having to work too hard.

Now, time for the flour and baking soda. Confession: I don’t sift the flour. I simply mix the flour and the baking soda, and that seems to work fine. If you’d prefer to sift your flour, go ahead sift to your heart’s content.

Pour the mashed bananas and flour mixture into the bowl of mixed margarine, sugar, and eggs. One word of advice: stir slowly. I tend to stir too fast, which causes the flour to fly out of the bowl and make a mess.

Add the nuts (or chocolate chips, in this case).

Pour into a greased pan.

…And the final product!

I’d love to sample it it right now, but it’s so close to suppertime that I’ll wait.

1 Comment

  1. Good write up Banana Bread Home is Where the Love Is. I haven’t looked at this kind before. It is often a wonder what you can uncover on the net.

    Like

Leave a Reply

