Home is Where the Love Is

Turning a house into a home…

Two New Recipes!

I tried two new recipes for dinner last night, and because they were a success, I thought I would share them! The first recipe is for slow cooked macaroni and cheese. I was looking for recipes using elbow macaroni, but I also wanted a way to use up some tomatoes. We have quite a few tomatoes – more than we know what to do with. We’ve made tomato pie, tomato sandwiches, fried tomatoes, and eaten them plain. Finding a recipes that I could do in the crock pot AND use tomatoes – I hit the jackpot.

As with most recipes I make, I changed a few of the ingredients. Normally, I like to follow a recipe exactly as written the first time I try it, but I didn’t have all of the ingredients, so I used what I had.

Farmhouse Macaroni and Cheese
~ 3 cups cooked elbow macaroni, rinsed and drained (keep in mind that macaroni doubles once it has been cooked, so I measured 1 1/2 cups of dry macaroni)
~ 2 T bacon bits
~ 1/4 cup chopped red onion (I omitted this)
~ 1 can stewed tomatoes (as I mentioned, I used real tomatoes; this was easier than I thought, as you can simply use 1 1/4 cups diced tomato and 1 cup of liquid)
~ 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I used 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup Mexican Blend shredded cheese because it’s what I had on hand)
~ 1 can cream of mushroom soup (I had cream of chicken)

Their instructions: In a slow cooker combine macaroni, bacon bits, onion, undrained stewed tomatoes and Cheddar cheese. Pour mushroom soup over top. Mix well to combine. Cover and cook on low 8 hours. Mix well before serving.

My instructions: Use crock pot liner or grease crock pot with cooking spray. Combine bacon bits, onion (optional), tomatoes, cheese, and soup; mix well. Cook on high for 8 hours or on low for 4 hours. Do not add elbow macaroni until the last 30-40 minutes of cooking time. Stir and serve.

This recipe was good! I will definitely try it again, and maybe alter the ingredients even more. I’d like to try it with flavored tomatoes and other types of cheeses. The great thing about simple recipes is that you can experiment with them and make them your own.

The second recipe I used last night was homemade potato bread. We LOVE potato bread, so when I found this recipe from Baking Bites, I was beyond thrilled. I haven’t made bread often, as there’s a lot of work involved, but I will say – it’s worth it in the end!

Potato Bread
~ 1/4 cup warm water (110F)
~ 1 packet active dry yeast
~ 1/2 cup water
~ 1/2 cup milk (I used powdered milk because we didn’t have regular)
~ 1/2 cup instant potato flakes
~ 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
~ 2 tsp salt
~ 1 tbsp oil or butter (optional)
~ Extra milk for brushing top of loaf (optional)

Combine yeast with 1/4 cup warm water until foamy, about 10 minutes.

Add yeast mixture to milk, water, potato, 1 cup flour, oil and salt in an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook. Mixing on a low speed, add remaining flour until dough comes away from the sides of the bowl. Add a bit more flour, if necessary.

Knead by hand on a floured surface until elastic and smooth, about 5 minutes. Place dough in a lightly greased bowl to rise until doubled, 1 – 1 1/2 hours.

Gently deflate dough and shape into a rectangle. Place dough into a greased loaf pan (9×5) and let rise, covered with a dish towel, for 45 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 375F. Brush loaf with a bit of milk, if using. Bake loaf for 30 minutes.

Remove from loaf pan and cover top of loaf with foil to prevent over-browning. Place directly on oven rack for 15 more minutes, or until bottom of the loaf sounds hollow when tapped. Let cool before slicing. Store well wrapped.

This was awesome! It has a different flavor than store-bought potato bread, but it was still delicious! If you have the time and are willing to make your own bread, I would recommend giving this recipe a try.

For more great recipes, check out Baking Bites!

1 Comment

  1. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 387 other followers

